Outline Of Malaysia

Malaysia is a sovereign country located on the Malay Peninsula and a northern portion of the Island of Borneo in Southeast Asia.[1] Malaysia comprisesthirteen states and three federal territories with a total land area of 329,847 square kilometres (127,355 sq mi).[2] The capital of Malaysia is Kuala Lumpur, while Putrajaya is the seat of the federal government.

The population stands at over 25 million.[1] The country is separated into two regions—Peninsular Malaysia and Malaysian Borneo—by the South China Sea.[1] Malaysia borders ThailandIndonesiaSingaporeBrunei, thePhilippines,[1] and Vietnam. The country is located near the equator and experiences a tropical climate.[1]

Malaysia is headed by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong and politically led by a Prime Minister.[3][4] The government is closely modeled after the Westminsterparliamentary system.[5]

General reference

History of Malaysia

Main articles: History of Malaysia and Timeline of Malaysian history

Events and treaties

Small area histories

Politics of Malaysia

Main article: Politics of Malaysia

Branches of the government of Malaysia

Main article: Government of Malaysia

Executive branch of the government of Malaysia

Legislative branch of the government of Malaysia

Judicial branch of the government of Malaysia

Main article: Courts of Malaysia

Foreign relations of Malaysia

Main article: Foreign relations of Malaysia

International organisation membership

Malaysia is a member of:[1]

Law and order in Malaysia

Main article: Law of Malaysia

Military of Malaysia

Main article: Military of Malaysia

Geography of Malaysia

An enlargeable topographic map of the island of Borneo

Main article: Geography of Malaysia

 Indonesia 1,782 km
 Thailand 506 km
 Brunei 381 km
  • Coastline: 4,675 km
    • Peninsular Malaysia 2,068 km
    • East Malaysia 2,607 km

Environment of Malaysia

Main article: Environment of Malaysia

Natural geographic features of Malaysia

Regions of Malaysia

Ecoregions of Malaysia

Main articles: List of ecoregions in Malaysia and Ecoregions in Malaysia

Administrative divisions of Malaysia

Main article: Administrative divisions of Malaysia

States of Malaysia

Main article: States of Malaysia

The states and federal territories of Malaysia.

Malaysia has 13 states:

  1.  Johor
  2.  Kedah
  3.  Kelantan
  4.  Malacca (Melaka)
  5.  Negeri Sembilan
  6.  Pahang
  7.  Perak
  8.  Perlis
  9.  Penang (Pulau Pinang)
  10.  Sabah
  11.  Sarawak
  12.  Selangor
  13.  Terengganu

Federal territories of Malaysia

Main article: Federal Territory (Malaysia)

Malaysia also has three federal territories, which are governed directly by thefederal government of Malaysia:

  1.  Kuala Lumpur
  2.  Labuan
  3.  Putrajaya

Districts of Malaysia

Main article: Districts of Malaysia

Municipalities of Malaysia

Main article: Municipalities of Malaysia

Economy and infrastructure of Malaysia

Main article: Economy of Malaysia

Economic plans and policies

Demography of Malaysia

Main article: Demographics of Malaysia


Main article: Religion in Malaysia


Culture of Malaysia

Main article: Culture of Malaysia

Art in Malaysia

Sports in Malaysia

Main article: Sports in Malaysia

Education in Malaysia

Main article: Education in Malaysia

Standardised examinations


  1. ^ UMNO was deregistered in 1988 and the Prime Minister of Malaysia formed a new party known as United Malays National Organisation (Baru) on February 16, 1988. The term “Baru” or “New” was removed by a constitutional amendment on July of the same year.
  2. ^ The United Sabah Party (Parti Bersatu Sabah) was a member of Barisan Nasional from its establishment in 1985 until its withdrawal from the coalition in 1990. The party rejoined the coalition in 2002.[6]
  3. ^ The Pan-Malaysian Islamic Party entered a coalition with the former Alliance Party in 1972 and subsequently joined the Barisan Nasional coalition when it was founded in 1974. It withdrew from the coalition in 1977.[7]

%d bloggers like this: