About Our Nation… MALAYSIA.

A blue rectangle with a gold star and crescent in the canton, with 14 horizontal red and white lines on the rest of the flag Shield showing symbols of the Malaysian states with a star and crescent above it and a motto below it supported by two tigers
Flag Coat of arms
Motto: “Bersekutu Bertambah Mutu”[1]
“Unity Is Strength”
Anthem: Negaraku
My Country

Capital Kuala Lumpur
Putrajaya (administrative)
Largest city Kuala Lumpur
Official languages Bahasa Malaysia
Official script Malay (Latin) alphabet
Recognised languages English
Ethnic groups ([2])

Religion Sunni Islam (official)
Demonym Malaysian
Government Federal parliamentary democracy
under an elective constitutional monarchy
 •  Yang di-Pertuan Agong Abdul Halim
 •  Prime Minister Najib Razak
 •  Chief Justice Arifin Zakaria
 •  President of the Dewan Negara S. Vigneswaran
 •  Speaker of the Dewan Rakyat Pandikar Amin Mulia
Legislature Parliament
 •  Upper house Dewan Negara
 •  Lower house Dewan Rakyat
Independence from the United Kingdom
 •  Independence of the Federation of Malaya 31 August 1957[3] 
 •  Federation of
Malaya, North Borneo,
16 September 1963 
 •  Expulsion of Singapore 9 August 1965 
 •  Total 330,803 km2 (66th)
127,720 sq mi
 •  Water (%) 0.3
 •  2016 estimate 31,187,000[4] (44th)
 •  2010 census 28,334,135[5]
 •  Density 92/km2 (116th)
237/sq mi
GDP (PPP) 2015 estimate
 •  Total $800.169 billion[6] (28th)
 •  Per capita $25,833[6] (42nd)
GDP (nominal) 2015 estimate
 •  Total $375.633 billion[6] (35th)
 •  Per capita $12,127[6] (65th)
Gini (2009) Negative increase 46.2[7]
high · 36th
HDI (2014) Increase 0.779[8]
high · 62nd
Currency Ringgit (RM) (MYR)
Time zone MST (UTC+8)
 •  Summer (DST) not observed (UTC+8)
Date format dd-mm-yyyy
Drives on the left
Calling code +60[9]
ISO 3166 code MY
Internet TLD .my

Malaysia (Listeni/məˈlʒə/ mə-lay-zhə or Listeni/məˈlsiə/ mə-lay-see-əMalaysian pronunciation: [məlejsiə]) is a federal constitutional monarchy located inSoutheast Asia. It consists of thirteen states and three federal territories and has a total landmass of 330,803 square kilometres (127,720 sq mi) separated by the South China Sea into two similarly sized regions, Peninsular Malaysiaand East Malaysia (Malaysian Borneo). Peninsular Malaysia shares a land and maritime border with Thailand and maritime borders with SingaporeVietnam, and Indonesia. East Malaysia shares land and maritime borders with Bruneiand Indonesia and a maritime border with the Philippines and Vietnam. The capital city is Kuala Lumpur, while Putrajaya is the seat of the federal government. With a population of over 30 million, Malaysia is the 44th most populous country. The southernmost point of continental EurasiaTanjung Piai, is in Malaysia. Located in the tropics, Malaysia is one of 17 megadiverse countries on earth, with large numbers of endemic species.

Malaysia has its origins in the Malay kingdoms present in the area which, from the 18th century, became subject to the British Empire. The first British territories were known as the Straits Settlements, whose establishment was followed by the Malay kingdoms becoming British protectorates. The territories on Peninsular Malaysia were first unified as the Malayan Union in 1946. Malaya was restructured as the Federation of Malaya in 1948, and achieved independence on 31 August 1957. Malaya united with North BorneoSarawak, and Singapore on 16 September 1963. Less than two years later in 1965, Singapore was expelled from the federation.[10]

The country is multi-ethnic and multi-cultural, which plays a large role in politics. About half the population is ethnically Malay, with large minorities ofMalaysian ChineseMalaysian Indians, and indigenous peoples. Theconstitution declares Islam the state religion while allowing freedom of religionfor non-Muslims. The government system is closely modelled on theWestminster parliamentary system and the legal system is based on common law. The head of state is the king, known as the Yang di-Pertuan Agong. He is anelected monarch chosen from the hereditary rulers of the nine Malay statesevery five years. The head of government is the prime minister.

Since its independence, Malaysia has had one of the best economic records in Asia, with its GDP growing at an average of 6.5% per annum for almost 50 years. The economy has traditionally been fuelled by its natural resources, but is expanding in the sectors of science, tourism, commerce and medical tourism. Today, Malaysia has a newly industrialised market economy, ranked third largest in Southeast Asia and 29th largest in the world. It is a founding member of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations, the East Asia Summitand the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation, and a member of Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation, the Commonwealth of Nations, and the Non-Aligned Movement.